The International Institute of Public Finance

The International Institute of Public Finance (IIPF) is the world organization of Public Finance economists. Founded in Paris in 1937, it has since become the pre-eminent academic institution for study and research on economic public policy topics, and the platform of choice for the establishment of contacts and exchange of opinions on policy matters among scholars of all nationalities. At a time when academic economic research tends to distance itself from economic policy problems, the IIPF plays a valuable role in giving economics an orientation towards the real world.

Comprising approximately 750 members from over 50 countries, in an increasingly specialized academic field, the IIPF seeks to generate intellectual interchanges among public finance experts.

The Institute’s annual congress is the main forum for its activities, which include organizing academic events, promoting the exchange of knowledge between academics and practitioners of all nationalities, and awarding prizes for outstanding academic achievements. One of the tasks the IIPF has set for itself is to encourage scholars in their scientific work. To this end, it has instituted two awards, the IIPF Peggy and Richard Musgrave Prize (created in 2003), and the IIPF Young Economists Award (created in 2008). These prizes are awarded at the IIPF Annual Congresses.

The congress also provides an opportunity for the IIPF governing bodies to convene (Board of Management, General Assembly of Members). The IIPF is currently administered by an Executive Committee consisting of President Clemens Fuest (Ifo Institute and University of Munich, Germany) and two Vice Presidents, Katherine Cuff (McMaster University, Canada) and Wojciech Kopczuk (Columbia University, USA). The legal and administrative seat of the non-profit organization IIPF is in Munich, Germany.

Further information is available at

Congress Venue 2020

The 76th Annual Congress of the International Institute of Public Finance will be held August 19 – 21, 2020 at the University of Iceland’s main campus, in the heart of Reykjavík the capital of Iceland, about 10 minutes walk from downtown Reykjavík.

Founded in 1911, the University of Iceland comprises five schools and 26 faculties offering over four hundred different programmes of study. It is the only university in Iceland offering undergraduate and graduate programmes in all major academic disciplines, including doctoral degrees in most fields of study. Currently some 12,500 students are enrolled at the university, including almost 1,400 international students.

Plenary sessions will be held in two connected auditoriums in the University´s Center Building, HT-102 and HT-105.

Parallel Sessions will be held in the university´s buildings Gimli, Oddi, Lögberg and Veröld which are all connected to the Center Building. All rooms are equipped with projectors and Wi-Fi internet access.

Lunch, coffee and refreshments during congress days will be served in the University´s cafeteria/restaurant Háma in the Center Building.

Board meetings will be held in the meeting room in the Center Building in room HT-300. Administrative office space will also be available.

Map of IIPF 2020 Congress Locations

Scientific Committee


Mireille Chiroleu-Assouline – Paris School of Economics and University Paris 1, France
Marco Runkel – University of Technology Berlin, Germany


David Agrawal – University of Kentucky, USA
Felix Bierbrauer – University of Cologne, Germany
Pierre Boyer – CREST, École Polytechnique, France
Joshua Gottlieb – University of Chicago, USA
Mark Hafstead – Resources for the Future, USA
Ines Helm – Stockholm University, Sweden
Kaisa Kotakorpi – Tampere University, Finland
Marita Laukkanen – Helsinki Graduate School of Economics and VATT Institute, Finland
Adam Lavecchia – McMaster University, Canada
Benjamin B. Lockwood – Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania, USA
Mohammed Mardan – Norwegian School of Economics (NHH), Norway
Torben Mideksa – Uppsala University, Sweden
Eva Mörk – Uppsala University, Sweden
Linda Nostbakken – Norwegian School of Economics (NHH), Norway
Hikaru Ogawa – University of Tokyo, Japan
Andreas Peichl – University of Munich – Ifo Institute, Germany
Paola Profeta – Bocconi University, Italy
Maria Racionero – The Australian National University, Australia
Nadine Riedel – University of Münster, Germany
Kerstin Roeder – University of Augsburg, Germany
Stefan Staubli – University of Calgary, Canada
Thomas Steger – Leipzig University, Germany
Bernd Süssmuth – Leipzig University, Germany
Emmanuelle Taugourdeau – CNRS, CREST, ENS Paris-Saclay, France
Binzhen Wu – Tsinghua University, China

Local Organizing Committee


Þórólfur Geir Matthíasson – University of Iceland, Iceland
Guðrún Johnsen – École Normale Supérieure, France


Ásgeir Daníelsson – Central Bank of Iceland
Benedikt Jóhannesson – Former Minister of Finance
Daði Már Kristófersson – University of Iceland
Helga Jónsdóttir – Ministry of Finance and Economic Affairs
Katrín Ólafsdóttir – Reykjavík University
Sigurður Snævarr – Icelandic Association of Local Authorities