Keynote Speakers 2020

Rick van der Ploeg

Rick van der Ploeg

Professor of Economics

Research Director of the Oxford Centre
for the Analysis of Resource Rich Economies

University of Oxford

Karen Palmer

Karen Palmer

Economist, PhD

Director and
Senior Fellow

Resources for the Future

Anna Alberini

Professor of Economics

Agricultural and
Resource Economics

University of Maryland


Ottmar Edenhofer

Professor of the Economics

Director of the Potsdam Institute
for Climate Impact Research (PIK)

Technical University Berlin

Rick van der Ploeg is Professor of Economics and Research Director of the Oxford Centre for the Analysis of Resource Rich Economies at the University of Oxford. He is also Director of the CESifo Public Sector Economics Programme, Research Fellow of the CEPR International Macroeconomics Programme, and Adjunct Professor at the VU University Amsterdam. He obtained his PhD in Engineering at the University of Cambridge, and subsequently was employed at Cambridge, LSE, Tilburg, Amsterdam and EUI, Florence. He had a 14 year spell as Member of Parliament, State Secretary of Education, Culture and Science, and Member of the Unesco World Heritage Committee.

His research interests are in public economics and macroeconomics, but more recently he has mostly worked on the economics of natural resources and on climate economics.

Karen Palmer has been a researcher at Resources for the Future for over 25 years. Dr. Palmer specializes in the economics of environmental regulation and public utility regulation, particularly on issues at the intersection of climate policy and the electricity sector.

Her work seeks to improve the design of incentive-based environmental and technology regulations that influence the electric utility sector and to help inform the ongoing transition of the electricity sector. To these ends, she explores new designs for policies targeting carbon emissions, analyzes efficient ways to promote use of renewable sources of electricity and energy efficiency and investigates market and regulatory reforms to pave the way for long-term de-carbonization of electricity supply and electrification of the energy economy.

Anna Alberini received her PhD in Economics from the University of California San Diego in 1992. She is currently a professor in the Department of Agricultural and Resources Economics at the University of Maryland, College Park. She is an environmental economist with a major focus on the economics of health and safety and non-market valuation, and an energy economist.

Her energy economics research focuses on residential energy demand, energy efficiency decisions and consequences of such decisions, policies targeted as shaping residential energy demand, and on vehicle fuel economy and driving decisions. Her work has appeared in the Energy Journal, Energy Economics, Energy Efficiency, JEEM, the Review of Economics and Statistics, the Journal of Health Economics, and other journals.

Ottmar Edenhofer is Director of the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research (PIK), Professor for the Economics of Climate Change at the Technical University Berlin as well as founding director of the Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change (MCC). Furthermore, he is inter alia a member of the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina and of the National Academy of Science and Engineering acatech.

Edenhofer has published numerous articles in leading journals and authored various books. From 2008 to 2015 he served as Co-Chair of Working Group III of the IPCC, shaping the Fifth Assessment Report on Climate Change Mitigation substantially, which has been considered a landmark report and provided the scientific basis for the Paris Agreement.

Online Congress Program

A detailed congress program with a listing of all workshop sessions, keynotes, networking events, etc. will be announced at the beginning of August. The last speaker in each workshop will be the workshop chair. Instructions how to access the sessions are to follow.

Below is a shortened program overview. For full and detailed program see:

Time zone:


August 19 (Wednesday)

August 20 (Thursday)

August 21 (Friday)

08:00 – 09:30 Opening

Keynote I: Edenhofer

Working Group Sessions E Working Group Sessions J
09:45 – 11:15 Working Group Sessions A Working Group Sessions F Working Group Sessions K
11:30 – 13:00 Working Group Sessions B Working Group Sessions G Working Group Sessions L
13:15 – 14:45 Working Group Sessions C Working Group Sessions H Working Group Sessions M
15:00 – 16:30

Keynote II: Palmer

Keynote III: van der Ploeg

Keynote IV: Alberini

Closing and Awards

Online Social Events

Even though our conference is online this year you will still have the chance to meet other researchers and expand your network. In the Networking section of the online congress platform you will be matched with a random fellow IIPF member. Exchange your contact details using the “Connect” button, share information using the Networking chat and move on to the next person when the time is up. We have scheduled Meet and Greet sessions for this purpose, but feel free to use this feature throughout the conference. The People tab lists all participants that have joined the event. You can send a direct message to any participant by clicking on their name.

The People tab lists all participants that have joined the event. You can send a direct message to any participant by clicking on their name.